Start with your Body’s History

I have been obsessed with health and nutrition for as long as I can remember.  There was a time when I was too obsessed and was another teenage girl under-eating and over  exercising.  I was so confused by my own body really.  It seemed like I had no control and I didn’t know what would happen if I just let go and really try and let my body take the lead.

Fast forward to today.  I believe my late twenties and early thirties have been a sort of second puberty.  In that I feel like I don’t know my body completely and to be honest I am scared shitless sometimes because I don’t know how and when it will fail me.  Looking at this pattern of distrust in relation to my body I just wonder now that I am in my thirties I want to feel confident and free of this nagging feeling.  The feeling that has been implanted from a long time ago that your life ends when you turn thirty. Or at least it was a hazy and vague territory that I was totally unprepared for.

In another post I will go into detail about this awkward stage, the transition from twenties to thirties but for now the point is that now I know life sort of begins again when you turn thirty.  I am perpetually shocked by how this feels and really is the reason I began this blog to explore what it means to live the rest of your life with the knowledge that potentially you could live for sixty more years.

Being thirtysomething has helped me gain a new respect for longevity and given me a renewed reason to find health and stability in my body and above all trust that I am not falling apart and that I have the potential to live a long and fulfilling life long after my twenties fade away.

Leave a Reply

